MSCA Falling Walls Lab Pitch Competition

Last month I took part in the #MSCA2024BE Conference. It was a unique opportunity to learn more about this brilliant programme and hear about perspectives for researcher’s careers.

There I could also share about my #MusicAsAnInvitation postdoc project, as part of the Falling Walls Competition. I was one of the 15 researchers selected out of 135 applicants to share about their researches in 3 minute pitches. 

It was really amazing for me – a pianist doing an artistic research in music – to be among such brilliant minds and hear about groundbreaking researches in areas such as science of materials, theoretical chemistry, cell therapy, and many others. Many congratulations to the winners Gabriele Greco, Lucía Doyle, & Dinga Wonanke, as well as all the other participants Mateusz Wilinski, Sarah Schaefer, Ferran Sancho, Pranav Lanka, Ines Hamouda, Sakhi Ghelichi, Irini Furxhi (thank you so much for the beautiful painting!) Carolyn Defrin, Greta Klejborowska, Nancy Margarita Ávila Martínez, Lingeswaran Arunagiri. 

However, in this particular time of my journey, the most special thing was to have my 18 month old Loulou there with me. 

Usually my dear husband comes to take care of her while I am doing my professional activities. But, this time he really could not take those days off his work. At first we thought about her staying home with him, but then we realised that she is not ready yet to be away from mum during the night. We decided that she would come with me.

I contacted the organisers, and the immediate response of support was just stunning. They promptly helped in any way they could, making sure that the restaurants would have food and a high chair for her, and even bringing a mat and toys for her to play.

During the sessions we had her play area by the stage, and the moderator Katrina Sichel as well as all the presenters were so kind to not mind her bubbly toddler noises. While I was doing my pitch, the organisers stopped what they were doing to stay with her. A member of the European Commission was also ready to come to help. In the end, two of my colleagues were there playing and making sure that she was happy and well looked after while mummy was presenting.

As I tell this, my heart beats with so much gratitude. It really means the world to have this embrace, and makes me think that, in an environment of lovingly support, we don’t need to split ourselves into “the professional”, then “the parent”, or any other category. We are one, we are a whole, life is integrated, and it is just one. 

I can only thank you all, specially to Hibo Ip, Gerard Bros Pérez  and “tatas” Greta and Inès.

All these bright people do research for a better world in the future. But I can surely say, for working mums like me, they are already creating a much more beautiful world now. Thank you ❤️

Photos: ©European Commission / Belgian Presidency Council of the European Union, 2024. Image source Alain Coppens / SPW. Also Gabriele Greco & Lucía Doyle 😊

Deixe um comentário